top of page
  • Writer's pictureNorman Bandiala

About Freelancing

Career Shift 2021


seostrategies

I am currently working as an ESL Teacher for over 3 years now. Before I had a lot of students in a day like more than 15 classes. I really enjoy my job because I can help students who want to learn English. I made a lot of friends while working on this kind of platform. This work sustained my basic needs and I can also buy some of the things I like. But recently because of the pandemic, the platform is saturated with a lot of new teachers. And that resulted in my daily student were getting really low.


I Applied as Freelancer

onlinejob

So I decided to apply as a freelancer at Onlinejobs.ph. I started sending proposals with data entry job-related work. Some of the clients responded to it but I was never close to getting hired. I've sent a lot of proposals like more than a hundred of them. I am not sure why maybe because I don't have any skills and experience. I had a trial with a British e-commerce company, they were really supportive during my trial. It's about dropshipping since I don't know how to do it properly and I don't have basic skills about it, it was very tough for me. I tried my best but I am not qualified to be a standard dropshipping person. I told them that I will stop the trial because I m not capable of delivering a quality service. They were really professional people and very kind too. I was surprised how they treated me since I'm not doing well with the trial. They gave me more chances to perform better but I'm still not good enough. I was feeling down and frustrated thinking about what should I do. So I stop sending proposals.


An Opportunity

While I was scrolling through my phone I can see a lot of ads on my social media about freelancing, cheap courses, and free courses. So I followed this kind of page so that I will have some idea of how will I start my journey in the freelancing world. I followed the Filipino Virtual Assistant page to get some hints on some skills that I need to learn. I keep on seeing promo about courses but I was really on a tight budget at that time. I made my final decision on the last week of January because I was relying on my salary. I ask them what skill should I enroll in since I don't have any experience being a virtual assistant. They recommended me to get the Freelancing Course. So I avail the course that they recommended me. I hope this will be a good start to my 2021 freelancing career.


Achieving Dreams

I am currently enrolled in the Freelancing Course. I am really glad that I follow my intuition because I could learn the very skill that the client needs. So far I am doing well with the training, I'm trying my best to do my portfolio every time. I'm so excited but at the same time nervous because I'm afraid I might make a mistake if ever I will be hired. I think It's an advantage for a freelancer to have basic background skills. You'll have a big advantage of getting hired and also you can provide a quality service. I am so happy that I enrolled in FVA I know this will be the start of achieving my dreams.

0 comments
bottom of page